Breastfeeding 2 (Tips)

Invest in a good nursing chair.

Get a good water bottle you can sip all day.

And my special beef: make sure you take the time to get your positioning right.  I had the problem of not having a good chair or pillow and for THREE BABIES in a row I would “wing it” and end up hurting my back for months on end.  Your upper back simply cannot deal with bad positioning meal after meal after meal for months on end.  I needed super massages and would have perpetual knots in my back for about nine months.  So dumb!!

That said, I found no use for Boppy pillows.  They were too big.  For a little newborn that can wrap around your (flabby) tummy, they were pretty good.  After about two months, they were decorative but useless.  A little couch pillow to tuck under the baby’s head worked better, when I was smart enough to use it.

Also, I hated nursing bras.  They simply required too much fiddling around and too many seconds for me to feel comfortable using them in public places, especially when my little guy was like a voracious vulture.  For five or six years in a row, I stuck to normal cotton bras that had a middle clasp (Fruit of the Loom?).  They were padded enough to survive a small letdown and I could do the clasp (quickly!) with one hand.  Big plus.  And they were cheap and durable, less than $10 a piece in Walmarts or wherever.  I highly recommend it.

I also hated most nursing shirts.  Again, too much fiddling.

Regarding letdowns, the only way I could avoid soaking my shirt (in the beginning months) was to pinch.  People told me to just fold my arms and press them into my chest, but that had the adverse effect of getting a small initial spray as I pressed them.  But if you fold your arms across your chest lightly and simply pinch with your thumb and first fingers, you can hide the fact that you’re even pinching.  It doesn’t hurt, and it stops all leakage from coming out.

Also regarding letdown, babies respond to it a lot.  If your letdown is slow, they might get agitated or pop on and off.  If one breast is slower than the other, they may not take from the slower one first.  Also if your breast is close to empty, they might pop on and off or refuse to suck.  They might even bite!  All of this is normal, and you should notice it as a sign that the milk is either not there like they’d like it, or not as fast.

Some people swear by Lansinoh.  I used it only a couple times when I had open sores.  I am ambivalent about it.

Make nursing as low-maintenance and practical as possible.  Don’t buy into all the fad things that make it like a religion or professional sport.  Get some bras, a water bottle, a chair, and a pump.  Get some pump bottles or bags, and a bottle or two just in case.  That should be all you need!

Figure out how to “hide” your breastfeeding with your shirt and without a blanket.  Blankets are good for use in public when other people are embarrassed about where to look when you’re breastfeeding.  But they have no purpose other than to make the baby mad, hot, or entertained, while frustrating you because you have one more thing to jostle while you’re trying to position yourself.

Leave a Reply

