A Homeschooling Preschool Schedule

Thinking about preschooling at home?

Good for you! When my son’s auditory processing problems made sending him to the public preschool the most promising option, I was heartbroken. I so wanted to homeschool him and never put him in the public schools because those were my personal convictions. However, I had one other little toddler at the time and a newborn on the way, so I knew I wouldn’t be able to give my oldest the attention he needed. Plus, he was just not thriving at home. I was not a special ed teacher, so I was not reaching him with the tools he needed.

However! I saved his preschool notes and programs throughout his first semester there, and if I could do things over, I would definitely have tried to preschool him first. Even with his special needs. I think I was originally scared I couldn’t succeed, but then I saw that what they were doing with him was not so amazing that I couldn’t have at least tried it here in the home first. If that hadn’t worked, then I could have sent him to the school. But if it had worked, I would have saved myself a lot of heartbreak over the negative character training he received and the overall influence of the state/public school system in my home.

So, here are some notes for you!

Here was the schedule: 8:30-11:30am every day. The bus came at 7:45am, and he got home at 12:15pm, so it was effectively quite a long day for a preschooler! But a nice break for me =) If I were doing this schedule today, maybe I would find some supervised chores for my preschooler to do between 7:45 and 8:30am, and then some quiet time from 11:30-12:15pm. That way, I would have maximized his schedule each day. That’s up to you.

8:30-8:45 Free Play
8:45-9:00 Circle Time
9:00-9:15 Small Group
9:15-9:30 CD time
9:30-9:40 Bathroom
9:40-10:00 Playground/Big Room
10:00-10:15 Snack Time
10:15-10:30 Art Time
10:30-10:40 Story time
10:40-11:00 Choice Time
11:00-11:20 Music Time
11:20-11:30 Dismissal (Clean-up/Goodbyes)

One thought on “A Homeschooling Preschool Schedule

  1. Thanks. Great info. I was wondering if you could expand a bit for me on the activities that are addressed in each of the time slots above. Some are self-explanatory,(ie bathroom)but I’d like to know what specifically was done during circle time, CD time, choice time, etc. We are in a position that we may be sending our almost three year old to public preschool in Sept as well, and I’d like to get a leg up on trying things at home during the summer before he goes. There is a 120 day placement period during which the assessments and paperwork take place before he can attend, so they are advising us to start soon. Although I think the peer interaction will be great for his lacking social/emotional skills, I am concerned about sending him there. Especially after reading some of your posts(IEP Tyrant). Although here in our state, they have told me that even if we develop a plan and he starts attending, we can at any point decide to pull him out without any problems. The decision is ours. Now this is what EI has told me. I haven’t actually talked to the preschool yet. My son will be three soon, so will not be able to receive any of EI services.
    I do know that the preschool will not let me ‘hang out’ in the back of the room and observe until I am comfortable leaving him there with strangers. Which probably won’t matter much to him, but is a BIG deal for me. Especially since he can’t communicate well. I was hoping to at least start something at home maybe two to three times a week at first, in order to get his feet wet before suddenly depositing him into a 5 day a week, three hour session(possibly 7 depending on his initial evaluation placement). It’s just so hard to know who to trust. What if he’s just immature and not as ‘delayed’ as they evaluate him to be? Will any of what they do in the special preschool be harmful to him in the long run? I have also heard that the more children that are enrolled in public spec ed, the more money they receive from the government, so there may be a situation of ‘overplacement’ just to recieve funding. Is this true? As a mother who has been through all of this, any information, help, advice you could provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

